The Perfect Fit

 

So… I haven’t posted in a very (very) long time. You see, school has kept me pretty (extremely) busy with dusty, old novels, secluded library corners, and philosophy so thick it makes my head spin. I’ve been busy with all things college, but it is college that got me thinking about clothing.

 

Lately, I’ve been having a bit of an existential crisis, if you will. Not to the extreme that the term crisis suggests, but a bit of thought provoking internal dialogue nonetheless. You see, I’ve been thinking quite a bit about the purpose of college and what the hell I’m doing in it. I suppose college is more important for me (an aspiring teacher) than people who are learning trades or studying fine arts, but I question a lot of what we are getting out of the “college experience.”

 

I mean, first of all, what the hell does that even mean? What is this thing that out-of-touch adults, deluded high school seniors, and college tour guides are always referring to? Well, it depends who you ask. If you ask many college students (mostly freshmen), they’d tell you it’s about roommate quarrels, skipping the maximum number of classes before your professor fails you, slutily themed parties, and getting so drunk you barely make it home. Sounds like fun, right? Again, it depends who you ask.

 

If you ask me, I’d say both yes and no. Trust me (and my friends can affirm this), I like to get crazy and dance on a table as much as the next gal, but you get to a point where this is no longer fulfilling. College must be about something more than accumulating a bunch of stories to tell your grandkids (just so they know how cool grandma/pa was in her/his youth).

I like to imagine college is like one big, long orientation to your future. It’s not just more school beyond high school; it’s a transition. Slowly (sometimes very slowly, depending on the person), you go from the lingerie- or jersey-clad freshman into a high heel- or jacket-wearing professional. College calls for you to NOT remain the same, to change, and if you don’t, in my opinion, you’ve missed out on the college experience entirely.

 

Where does clothing come in through all of this? Well, I think it is one of the main markers in how far from our former selves we have come. Hopefully, college can take us from the Ugg- sporting, sweatpants-loving teens we are, into real and true professionals. I know when I wear my pencil skirts and heels, I truly feel like a teacher. I am not the same as the kid in jeans, a tee, and a favorite leather jacket that I am most days. Putting on the costume solidifies the reality that one day, I will be more than a college student running from class to class, writing endless essays, and camping out in the library. One day, I’ll be a “real adult.”

 

One day… but that day is not today. Today, I’m just a student playing dress up, trying on a different costume for every possible profession, hoping to find something that is suitable, hoping that maybe one of these days I (and you) will find the perfect fit.

 

*Via: LaTur

 

By: Meghan Leary – Style

3 Responses to “The Perfect Fit”


  1. 1 Alvin October 29, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Very Very cool article! I’m right with you

  2. 2 Ryan October 29, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Yes. I agree with you wholeheartedly and am glad something like this got put up on XI. It was about time.


  1. 1 The Perfect Fit | Eleven Magazine Trackback on October 29, 2008 at 11:04 am

Leave a Reply

Eleven’s Twitter

Archives


