Rachmaninov’s Op. 3 No. 2 In C Sharp Minor

I was forced, at gun point, to play the piano throughout my middle school and high school years. I rarely play the piano, but, now that I am home for the holidays I finally sat at the piano and played for my parents.

I have since been listening to my favorite artists, and the one composer (besides Mozart) that I truly enjoy is Sergei Rachmaninov, who seemed to always be able to capture emotion far better than the vast majority of composers.

Gilels intrepretation of the piece I will admit I enjoy better than the recording of Rachmaninov’s playing, which is odd I guess, but you can check that out yourself. Above is the Gilels version, it gets really good from the 2 minute mark.

Enjoy.

Osama Eisa

2 Responses to “Rachmaninov’s Op. 3 No. 2 In C Sharp Minor”


  1. 1 FK December 27, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Watching this reminded me why Gilels is not often to my taste. I think it’s the way he could labour a point (as he appears to be doing at the start of the video).

    As for his hammering of the keyboard later in the work, am I alone in finding this a tad over-dramatic, even for Rachmaninov?

    FK

  2. 2 L. van December 31, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    There was a wonderful documentary shown on PBS years ago: “The Art of the Piano”. On it you can see a wonderful film (late 1930s or 1940s) of Hofmann playing the Rachmaninov. The marvellous plasticity and way his hands seemed welded to the keyboard as if he were part of the instrument itself is amazing. As far is performances of Rachmaninov go, it would be hard to surpass the playing of the composer himself (pre-1943), or the great Sviatoslav Richter. To my knowledge Richter didn’t record the Preludes complete but those that exist are fabulous….his recording of the second Concerto also. But Gilels was a fantastic artist….he could be remarkable in miniatures….listen to his recording of the Grieg Lyric Pieces (early 1970s, still available).


Leave a Reply

Eleven’s Twitter

Archives


