Double-take: Rediscovering beauty from gross stuff

yena_1

yena_2

Ever since I was a child, I had a fascination with insects. Unlike other girls my age that played with Barbie dolls and house, I played with construction sand and insects. One of my favorite past times was catching happy innocent bugs, pissing them off and making them battle another recently pissed off bug (the praying mantis was among the most rewarding and entertaining). I would catch beautiful dragonflies, rip off half of their wings and watch them circulate in the air like crashing helicopters. Sometimes I would catch hundreds of ants, collect them in a matchbox and cause them to explode. I never knew such good and innocent times would revisit me in my years as a fashion design student. But it did.

My collection for the Fusion Fashion Show (that will be held on March 7th and 8th) is inspired by the many bugs that were my friends when I was a little girl. I wanted to take inspiration from something that would normally be overlooked or even abhorred, (or in my case, tortured) and use their aesthetic elements to bring out something beautiful and unique. Bugs tend to have amazing iridescent colors and gradients that are easily, and accurately translated in fabric. I used metal and fused Vinyl to capture the exoskeletons of these creatures to add structure- juxtaposed with lightweight fabrics to represent more fragile parts like the wings.

If you’re in or around New York City, you should check out Fusion Fashion Show.com for the 10 year anniversary show. I promise it’ll be everything you’ve expected and more.

Yena Kim

0 Responses to “Double-take: Rediscovering beauty from gross stuff”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Eleven’s Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


