Tagless

adamwhite

Do the latest fashions in trenchcoats, desert boots, and clean-cut canvas shoes have you practically swimming in your own drool? Yeah well, me too. The problem is my wallet has other ideas. I can never pull myself to drop $100 on a pair of fly kicks, but I still find myself needing to scratch that “shopping itch” every now and then. I suppose this post is for the like minded. My answer to said “itch”: the quick purchase of a $15-$20 graphic tee. The guys on staff would agree, Ryan Haigh is a graphic tee whore. Where am I going with this? I have a new found respect for the direction Threadless has taken the last few months (after its redesign) and I wanted to share it with you.

Threadless is a online t-shirt company with a large community of buyers, artists, designers, supporters, and musicians. There are several competitions on the website, but you may enter a design at any point of the day, any day of the week and you’ll be entered into the main on-going competition (which boasts a $2,500 cash prize per printed design). I’ve been a fan of the site for a few years now and I’ve watched it grow into a community full of millions of users and thousands of shirts. Their online store literally has hundreds of shirts, but frequently features sales as well (such as the current sale that ends tomorrow, created only because they earned a shitload of new fans on their Facebook fanpage in one day). What’s more astounding is the printing techniques Threadless has started to utilize, such as glow-in-the-dark ink, UV exposure ink, unlimited color printing, embroidering and many more. Their new approaches are now attracting a steady stream of talented, reknowned artists (those featured in their Select Series), which in turn leads to a better product. What once was clever little illustrations with a silly message has transformed into large pieces of limited artwork on a t-shirt for a very convenient price.

So, if you’re looking to only spend a few bucks every now and then, and still get praises from your peers, perhaps a swift peruse of Threadless’ inventory is a satisfactory option.

*The above image is an illustration by Adam White aka The Craze One. The illustration is featured on a recent shirt released by Threadless. I encourage you to check out Adam’s portfolio as well, there are plenty of brilliant illustrations.

This will be my last post for a while, I have a magazine to create.

Ryan Haigh

Leave a Reply

Eleven’s Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


