This Message Has Been Auto-Tuned For Your Pleasure

We’ve all seen it, most of us have even enjoyed it. Auto-tuning has come to plague our iPods and radio stations. Kanye ODed on that shit making his latest album, 808s and Heartbreak, and T-Pain has shown us consistently that we do indeed love the auto-tunage. But I feel like we must eventually draw that proverbial line in the sand and say, enough is enough.

I was encouraged that I was not alone when I stumbled across an article on my Twitter. Death Cab For Cutie was interviewed at the Grammy’s on Sunday when their Auto-Tune Awareness ribbons caught MTV reporter’s eyes. They were quoted as saying “I think over the last 10 years, we’ve seen a lot of good musicians being affected by this newfound digital manipulation of the human voice, and we feel enough is enough.”

Hoorah Death Cab, Hoorah.

On the other hand, the so called Auto-Tune Awareness had no website, contact information, no real way to become more aware…thusly meaning Death Cab For Cutie was basically just being one collective dick. Regardless, I feel that this little dalliance into auto-tune might soon become an addiction if left unchecked. Rally to the call of the human voice and lets go back to the days when Kanye was making Jesus Walks and Through The Wire.

Ryan Evans

3 Responses to “This Message Has Been Auto-Tuned For Your Pleasure”


  1. 1 brianjames February 11, 2009 at 4:07 am

    Better yet, why not go back to and era when pop musicians were rewarded for their talent and not by how they looked. Instead of auto tuning, how about a nice vocal lesson. Better yet, listen to metal. Now thats raw.

  2. 2 bryan February 11, 2009 at 6:42 am

    Did you hear the auto tuning on lil wayne’s “rock song” prom queen? Hard to believe that its the single for an album that he will make millions from.

  3. 3 Alli February 11, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    I heard that on the radio as well. I never liked it, so I was quite happy when DeathCab decided to say what I’ve always wanted a platform for.

    I have literally turned up my nose and off my radio in response to T-Pain’s horrible attempts at “music.” It’s a cop out and unfortunately loved by copy cats.


Leave a Reply

Eleven’s Twitter

Archives


