Perspectives, Mary Elizabeth Fair

n29802942_30776306_4262

A wise woman once suggested that men would never know the full truths of fashion [and life for that matter] without the touch of a woman. We’re very lucky to have that golden touch again this week. Joined by Mary Elizabeth Fair, a Communication/Photojournalism student out of Flagler College in St. Augustine, Florida we’re expecting to have an outstanding week of inspiration on the blog. Take a quick look at our interview with Mary before we dive headfirst into the coming week.

11: Mary, endulge my musical curiousity… what are you listening to right now?
Mary Elizabeth: Zach Deputy “Home” and Beautiful Girls “I Thought About You.”

11: Who would you say, has influenced your sense of style?
Mary Elizabeth: Isabela Capeto and Tracy Feith are some of my favorite designers; I love color and detailing in clothes… I’m also loving the Spring DVF collection!

11: Aside from those dresses, we need a manly question to balance this interview off. Is a mustache ever inappropriate?
Mary Elizabeth: I’m not a big fan of facial hair, but I don’t have a problem with it. A lot of great men have had mustaches. I think the only mustache that might not be appropriate would be the Salvador Dali mustache… but he was a creative mind so I guess I can’t hate too much.

My friend is reading the book One Thousand Beards: A Cultural History of Facial Hair and it has some fascinating stuff in there about beards and mustaches!

11: Wow, I think I’m going to have to pull out the credit card right now and purchase what looks to be like the Man Bible of awesome facial hair. Wouldn’t that be wild if I had a mustache long enough to tie my shoe laces!? Speaking of which, what is your favorite pair of shoes?
Mary Elizabeth: I used to have these amazing gold sandals that I found in my garage. I took them with me the first time I went to Europe and wore them on all my crazy adventures (that is, until they snapped during one of them!)

11: Nothing a little tape couldn’t fix! However, I don’t know if tape really falls within the rule book of fashion. Let’s ask for starters, do you believe fashion is important?
Mary Elizabeth: Of course, fashion allows us to express our creativity and moods. Without it life would be so bland!

11: Well put. In the hopes that you haven’t used tape, what rules of fashion do you never break and which do you break?
Mary Elizabeth: You know, I live in a tourist town. Everyday I see the most tragic fashion mistakes. My friends and I actually have lists of things people should never wear:

a. Jorts (jean shorts) on men just aren’t attractive…
b. E.T.M.D. (entirely too much denim) jeans with jean jackets, choose one or the other but not both…
c. Even though they’re practical fanny packs just don’t work out…the only exception I might have is I know this one guy who made a New Year resolution to wear a fanny pack for the entire year and he did it! That’s just awesome! But otherwise no fanny packs please!

My fashion mistake would have to be my obsession with 80s sweaters. They’re so gaudy and ugly but I just can’t resist! I love it!

11: Hey, we all have our guilty pleasures. I used to rock Jorts like it was my job, why didn’t anyone tell me to stop sooner!? What are your thoughts on man-bags? Perhaps a man-bag could work perfectly with Jorts? No?
Mary Elizabeth: Hmmm murses? Even though some may disagree, I really like the idea. I think it’s very practical. Guys need to carry stuff around too and pockets can only hold so much. I think in the next couple of years more men will be more open to them.

11: You may be right. In the instance that someone isn’t holding a fluorescent man-bag however, what is the first thing you notice in another person’s outfit?
Mary Elizabeth: On girls, dresses because that’s my obsession! And on guys…sports coats. I love when people can pull off a colorful, fun outfit but still look polished.

11: Time for the quick fire question… If you were running for President, what would your slogan be? And GO!
Mary Elizabeth: Free beer! Haha! If I could work that out almost everyone would vote for me!

11: Finally, the most profound question of this interview, would you rather have a Jerry Curl or a Mullet?
Mary Elizabeth: I’m gonna have to go with the mullet. I mean, I’m from Mississippi…not saying that everyone from there has a mullet, but I could fit in with the rednecks for sure.

11: The Mullet getting the win once again. I mean, combine that mullet with a beard from the book of One Thousand Beards and a man-bag and you might have the craziest thing to hit the fashion world in ages. Mary, thanks for your time. We look forward to your inspiration for the rest of the week!

3 Responses to “Perspectives, Mary Elizabeth Fair”


  1. 1 shannon February 16, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    MEF! go tell the world how to look pretty. you do it well 🙂

  2. 2 Dave February 16, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    This chick is kinda cute. Can I get her number?

  3. 3 Laura Ellen February 19, 2009 at 1:28 am

    MEF! You are fabulous. Thanks for the shout out for Mississippi…I’ll try to ignore the mullet comment. Continue to be fun and fashion forward!


Leave a Reply

Eleven’s Twitter

Archives


