Waltz with Bashir

waltz_with_bashir11

While I was interning at the Cannes Film Festival this summer, there was one film that everyone was talking about. Waltz with Bashir, an official selection in the film festival, was undoubtedly the festival favorite. You couldn’t talk to anyone without them mentioning the film. Sure Indiana Jones was premiering at the festival, as well as other films such as Woody Allen’s Vicky Christina Barcelona but Waltz with Bashir was the film that had made an impact on the audiences.

After hearing so many people talk about it, I decided to sit in on an afternoon viewing. I have to admit, I went into the film feeling somewhat skeptical about it. Waltz with Bashir is an animation film and I’m not a big animation fan. But as I watched, I quickly began to realize why so many had been moved by the animation documentary.

Director, Ari Folman, tells the story of his forgotten past as a soldier for the Israeli Army in the 1982 Lebanon War. As Folman meets with old friends to remember what happened during his tour of duty, his memory leads him back to the horrors of warfare that only a veteran can relive.

For me, watching the film was like watching a piece of history unravel through art. Waltz with Bashir was not only the best film I saw while I was in Cannes but it stands out in my mind as one of the best films I have seen in my life thus far. For me, its original content earned it merit alone but the style of the film and its theme exceeded my expectations. I think the most interesting thing about the film is the perspective that it takes. The audience is not only reminded of the lives lost in warfare. It also gives insight into the lives of those who saw the destruction of war, of those who created the chaos and those whose lives are haunted by the memory of their actions.

Mary Elizabeth Fair

1 Response to “Waltz with Bashir”


  1. 1 jamiroquai February 16, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    very engaging writing. heard of this before but the way you swung this has me convinced it’s a must see.


Leave a Reply

Eleven’s Twitter

Archives


