Black Cab Sessions

blackcab

Bon Iver from Black Cab Sessions on Vimeo.

I don’t think I’d be wrong in thinking that my dad is a pretty cool guy. He’s a Southern gentleman, who enjoys fishing and football. He likes knowing what my brothers and I are interested in but he doesn’t try to like the same stuff we do. However, he surprises me sometimes because he has this strange way of randomly discovering some really awesome stuff every now and then.

For instance, my dad invested in the first internet company in our state. Our family had internet before anyone even knew what a website was. When I was younger I remember my dad calling me into the kitchen and playing “Loser” by Beck and I was like who is Beck? Or how about Matisyahu? Yeah, my dad knew about him before I did too.

So when my dad told me about Black Cab Sessions, I decided to check it out. Black Cab Sessions started in May 2007 with a performance by Johnny Flynn in the back of one of Britain’s many black cabs. The one-song performance was filmed and uploaded onto the web and became the first of many black cab sessions.

Since its start Black Cab Sessions has featured well-known artists such as Bon Iver, Fleet Foxes, Jens Lekman, Spoon, etc. I like Black Cab Sessions because it’s a unique concept, throw an artist in the back of a cab and make them play a song for you. Plus, they have some pretty good artists on there and they’re always adding new videos. So I guess I’m going to have to give my dad credit for finding one more thing that’s pretty cool.

Mary Elizabeth Fair

1 Response to “Black Cab Sessions”


  1. 1 bigchase February 17, 2009 at 11:50 am

    I saw this a while ago!!! SO COOL


Leave a Reply

Eleven’s Twitter

Archives


