Chris Rucker

_MG_0282-copy

“I developed a fascination with distressed materials ,surveying furniture abandoned curbside near my studio in Brooklyn. The swollen press-board and peeling laminate spoke a language of everyday use, disposable fabrication methods, and cheap material slavishly imitating fine furnishings.” – Chris Rucker

02a-copy

 

I’ve always enjoyed the work of those who look to the past and present for inspiration. As a Design student myself, i am surrounded by many young and ambitious aspiring designers who get very much caught up in “space age materials”, Sometimes (including myself) forget to take a step back to look at what has worked in the past and what is working now.

Please don’t get me wrong, I am all for innovation. Lets learn from the mistakes of the past.

This is why I was drawn to the work of Chris Rucker, the inexpensive materials and clean lines (the eleven crew can tell you i am a non repenting minimalist) somehow tell the same story of a piece that could be made of much more lavish materials. I am thankful that there are those out there who can appreciate the contrast of elegant patterns, forms and utilitarian materials.

 

Antonio Aresco

 

 

http://ruckercorp.com/

0 Responses to “Chris Rucker”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Eleven’s Twitter

Archives


