Suit Saturday: The Pocket Square

arts-graphics-2008_1184502a

It is Saturday, therefore my weekly comment on what elements to put in a proper suit is here. Last time, I discussed the benefits of the double-breasted suit. The pocket square, like the double-breasted suit must be worn properly for it to work.

Now, before you think I’m going to fawn over Mad Men because they happen to have some suits here or there, you’re wrong. The picture above, on the right, the pocket square, is wrong and I hope you never ever wear your pocket square that way.

That, you see that? That is how you wear a pocket square. What is the difference? The lapel goes over the area where the pocket square is. Believe me, it’ll make you look smarter and sharper. I mean, don’t just take my word for it, how about this guy, or uh this one, and finally this guy too.

Now, if you lived in the 1960’s, you could do this very easily. Donald Draper can do this, because he is a fictional character, set in this 1960’s. Are you in the 1960’s? No, so don’t do it.

Now, I know that I just spoke of going retro the other day. The problem is, if you decide to take this elongated shape to your jacket and your pocket square, you will look boxy, oddly-shaped, and as if you came out of Sportscenter. That is bad.

Furthermore, we have outgrown certain things that used to be critical to a man’s attire. Do you wear garters to keep your socks above your ankle? No, because there are now socks that will stay up, so, forget about Donald Draper’s pocket squares they are bad.

So next time you buy a jacket, make sure that the pocket is as close to the lapel, without looking weird. This takes a little practice, but just check out what I showed you and you should be golden. There really isn’t any suit I’ve seen that puts the pocket too close to the lapel, but, too far? Very often.

So next time you put in that white cloth, remember, it’s really easy to take that $5 handkerchief and make your $200 suit look like a $2,000 one. You just have to do it right. You don’t have to spend, just pretend.

Osama Eisa

1 Response to “Suit Saturday: The Pocket Square”


  1. 1 Dr ! June 13, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    I like this. Theres so many times that a pocket square just doesn’t look right to me, but I can never put my finger on why.
    This did it I think.
    What about wearing pocket squares of a louder color that isn’t necessarily part of the outfit?


Leave a Reply

Eleven’s Twitter

Archives


